The CSU Channel Islands acceptance rate for first-time freshmen was 93.7% for Fall 2025: 8,148 admitted out of 8,698 applications, according to CSUCI Institutional Research. Federal IPEDS data for Fall 2024 shows 95% (8,353 of 8,810), which is the figure US News and Niche display.
But here’s the thing. A CSUCI acceptance rate that high describes the campus, not the BS Nursing program, which runs its own ranked selection. For Fall 2027 entry to the BSN, nursing applications are accepted only from October 1 to November 30, 2026, not through the January 15, 2027 priority deadline.
Only the top 90 nursing applicants are invited to a group interview. CSUCI does not publish seat counts or a nursing acceptance rate.
CSU Channel Islands in Brief
Here are the core numbers behind the Cal State Channel Islands acceptance rate and admission rules, each with its year and source.
| Fact | Value | Year / Source |
|---|---|---|
| Freshman rate | 93.7% | Fall 2025, CSUCI IR |
| Freshman rate (federal) | 95% | Fall 2024, NCES |
| Transfer rate | 81.8% | Fall 2025, CSUCI IR |
| Minimum A-G GPA | 2.50 CA / 3.00 non-CA | csuci.edu |
| SAT/ACT | Not used | csuci.edu |
| Application fee | $70 | 2024-25, NCES |
| In-state tuition and fees | $7,159 | 2024-25, NCES |
| Freshman priority deadline | Jan 15, 2027 | csuci.edu |
| BS Nursing deadline (transfer, 2nd bachelor) | Nov 30, 2026 | csuci.edu |
| Undergraduates | 4,545 | Fall 2025, CSUCI IR |
| First-year retention | 80.0% | Entered Fall 2024, CSUCI IR |
Source: CSUCI Institutional Research, csuci.edu, NCES College Navigator; accessed October 2026.
CSU Channel Islands Acceptance Rate by Year (Fall 2015 to 2026)
Channel Islands admitted 93.7% of first-time freshmen for Fall 2025, and the rate has stayed above 89% every fall since 2021.
| Fall | Applied | Admitted | Rate | Enrolled | Yield |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2015 | 9,517 | 6,437 | 67.6% | 905 | 14.1% |
| 2016 | 10,310 | 7,613 | 73.8% | 1,010 | 13.3% |
| 2017 | 10,689 | 8,366 | 78.3% | 955 | 11.4% |
| 2018 | 11,330 | 8,876 | 78.3% | 970 | 10.9% |
| 2019 | 11,894 | 10,204 | 85.8% | 887 | 8.7% |
| 2020 | 10,040 | 7,975 | 79.4% | 632 | 7.9% |
| 2021 | 9,244 | 8,597 | 93.0% | 566 | 6.6% |
| 2022 | 10,420 | 9,342 | 89.7% | 635 | 6.8% |
| 2023 | 10,082 | 9,382 | 93.1% | 568 | 6.1% |
| 2024 | 8,810 | 8,353 | 94.8% | 520 | 6.2% |
| 2025 | 8,698 | 8,148 | 93.7% | 554 | 6.8% |
| 2026 (early) | 7,859 | 7,380 | 93.9% | 589 | 8.0% |
Source: IPEDS via the Urban Institute API and NCES College Navigator (2015 to 2024); CSUCI IR and the CSU campus page (2025); CSUCI IR dashboard (2026). Calculated by CalChannel, October 2026.
The 2026 row is an early Fall 2026 figure from CSUCI’s IR dashboard. It is not yet labeled final and may change, since no Fall 2026 census snapshot has been posted.
Applications tell a different story. They peaked at 11,894 in Fall 2019 and fell to 8,810 by Fall 2024, a 25.9% drop.
Measured against that peak, the early 2026 count of 7,859 is 33.9% lower.
The Channel Islands acceptance rate was much lower in the campus’s early years. From Fall 2006 to Fall 2013 it ranged from 40.08% to 67.94%, and the lowest year since 2010 was Fall 2012 at 53.82%.
Why Other Sites Show Anywhere From 83% to 95%
The California State University Channel Islands acceptance rate you see elsewhere depends on which year and which math a site used.
| Number you saw | Where | What it actually is |
|---|---|---|
| 95% | US News, Niche, College Factual | IPEDS Fall 2024, rounded |
| 94.8% | PrepScholar, CollegeTuitionCompare | IPEDS Fall 2024 |
| 83.38% | CollegeTuitionCompare, “10-year average” | Average of yearly IPEDS rates, 2015 to 2024 |
| 27.18% | CollegeTuitionCompare | Change in percentage points, 2015 to 2024 |
| 85.69% | BigFuture | Year not stated; matches no IPEDS year |
| 87% | San Francisco Chronicle | Not reproducible from official data |
| About 94% | CSU campus page, CSUCI IR | Fall 2025 (93.68%) |
Source: CalChannel comparison against IPEDS (Urban Institute API, unitid 441937) and CSUCI IR, October 2026.
Fall 2024 itself is not in dispute: IPEDS gives 94.81% and CSUCI IR 94.76%. Even combining freshman and transfer applicants, CSUCI IR data puts Fall 2024 at 90.7%, not 87%.
What GPA Do You Need? CSU Channel Islands GPA Requirements
You are eligible for freshman admission with a 2.50 A-G GPA as a California resident or 3.00 as a non-resident. Applicants a little below those lines can still get a supplemental review. You also need 15 year-long college preparatory (A-G) courses with a C- or better.
| Applicant | Eligible | Supplemental review |
|---|---|---|
| California resident | 2.50 and up | 2.00 to 2.49 |
| Non-California resident | 3.00 and up | 2.47 to 2.99 |
| Average admitted GPA | 3.47 | Not applicable |
Source: CSUCI Freshman Requirements, accessed October 2026; average GPA of Fall 2025 admits from the CSU Channel Islands page on calstate.edu.
The 2.47 floor for non-residents looks odd, but it is standard CSU wording. The CSUN 2026-27 catalog uses the same range, saying applicants “between 2.47 and 2.99 may be evaluated” on supplemental factors such as courses beyond the A-G minimum, household income and extracurricular involvement.
The same calstate.edu page lists a 3.43 average for applicants. The 3.22 figure shown by PrepScholar and some AI answers has no year and cites Peterson’s, so treat it as outdated.
The campus is also not impacted. The CSUCI freshman requirements page puts it plainly: “CSUCI is not an impacted campus so any CA high school will be considered local area.”
SAT and ACT: Not Used for Admission
CSUCI “no longer uses ACT or SAT examinations in determining admission eligibility.” Scores can still be used for course placement. That makes BigFuture’s “SAT/ACT Scores Required” label and PrepScholar’s advice to aim for 960 out of step with current policy.
How Does Nursing Admission Work at CSU Channel Islands?
Admission to CSUCI is not admission to the BSN. First-time freshmen enter as Pre-Nursing and “are not eligible to apply for our program until all of the above requirements have been satisfied,” per the nursing application page. There is no published CSUCI nursing acceptance rate either, since CSUCI does not publish seat counts or applicant numbers.

Transfer students must apply directly as Nursing majors, per the CSUCI nursing application page, and list an alternate major. Post-baccalaureate students apply to the BSN-Nursing (2nd Bachelor) option. Those applicants must be admitted to the BSN to enroll at CSUCI at all.
For freshmen, CSUCI notes that the prerequisites and TEAS “can take 1+ years to complete.”
The program only admits in fall semesters. BS Nursing is also CSUCI’s only impacted program, and a page labeled “Admission Criteria for Fall 2025” says the university is “awaiting preliminary impaction status from the California State University Chancellor’s Office.”
Fall 2027 Nursing Timeline: Nov 30, 2026, Not Jan 15
| Step | Fall 2027 date or rule |
|---|---|
| 1. University application | Oct 1 to Nov 30, 2026 |
| 2. NursingCAS application | Oct 1 to Nov 30, 2026, closes 8:59 PM PST |
| 3. Documents | By Nov 30, 2026; late documents not accepted |
| 4. Prerequisites | Completed or in progress in Fall 2026; Spring 2027 courses not accepted |
| 5. Interview | Top 90 applicants, face-to-face group interview |
| 6. Provisional admission | Then criminal background check and urine drug screening |
| 7. Start | Fall 2027 (fall entry only) |
Source: csuci.edu nursing application page and Supplemental Criteria PDF, accessed October 17, 2026. The timeline applies to transfer, second-bachelor and current CI students entering the BSN in Fall 2027.
That January 15, 2027 date applies to everyone else. CSUCI’s apply page lists it as the “priority deadline for all other (non-impacted) programs,” so a transfer or second-bachelor nursing applicant who waits until January has missed the Fall 2027 cycle.
Channel Islands Nursing Program Requirements: Required vs Optional Points
Only three items are mandatory, and CSUCI says “All other areas of the criteria are optional.” The weight of each item is not public: “The Supplemental Criteria point value is internal information and is not disclosed to the public.”
Required:
- Prerequisite GPA across 8 core courses: BIO 210, BIO 211, BIO 217, COMM 101 and GE A3, plus chemistry, composition and statistics options (an in-progress course counts as a B until the final transcript)
- Cumulative GPA of at least 2.5
- TEAS total score of at least 58.7%
That wording comes from the TEAS page; the criteria sheet describes the same cutoff as a proficient national percentile rank above 58.7%. Only TEAS versions 6 and 7 count, and the fee starts at $65, plus $5 for virtual testing. You can take it twice per calendar year, at least 30 days apart.
Optional points:
- EOP, Foster Youth, Dolphin Guardian Scholars, SSS or EOPS
- A second language (CLEP 68+, ACTFL “Advanced-Mid” or intermediate ASL)
- Current CI student, or 5 of the 8 prerequisites taken at CSU Channel Islands
- Local residency: Ventura, Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, Southern Monterey County or Malibu, by last school attended or permanent residency
- 1,000+ paid hours of direct patient care, volunteering (50 hours minimum, 200 recommended) or a CNA, EMT or MA license
- Military service (honorable discharge or active duty)
The top 90 applicants then attend a face-to-face group interview. Decisions are “based on supplemental criteria scores and the rating of the face-to-face interview.” The interview appears only on the criteria sheet, not on the nursing application page.
How This Nursing Breakdown Was Compiled
CalChannel read CSUCI’s nursing application, TEAS, impacted-programs and Supplemental Criteria pages on csuci.edu on October 17, 2026, and cross-checked the cycle dates. The criteria CSUCI links for the Fall 2027 cycle are still the sheet dated Fall 2026 (revised 10/14/2024).
A Fall 2027 version was not posted as of Oct 17, 2026 (its expected address returned a 404), so criteria may change.
What Is the CSU Channel Islands Transfer Acceptance Rate?
About 82%. CSUCI Institutional Research counts 3,444 admits out of 4,211 transfer applications for Fall 2025, or 81.8%, and the rate has barely moved since 2023.
| Fall | Applied | Admitted | Rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 4,277 | 3,519 | 82.3% |
| 2024 | 4,171 | 3,424 | 82.1% |
| 2025 | 4,211 | 3,444 | 81.8% |
| 2026 (early, not yet labeled final, may change) | 3,898 | 3,209 | 82.3% |
Source: CSUCI Institutional Research, Admissions Trends (Transfer), accessed October 2026.
For Fall 2025, 933 first-time transfer students chose to enroll, according to CSUCI’s Campus Numbers. That page counts 4,693 transfer applicants, while the IR admissions dashboard shows 4,211, and CSUCI does not publish how the two counts differ.
So what does that actually mean for you? On CSUCI’s own count, roughly four in five transfer applicants get in. Nursing transfers follow the separate, earlier process described above.
How Do You Apply to CSU Channel Islands for Fall 2027?
- Apply once the Fall 2027 application opens on October 1, 2026.
- Submit by January 15, 2027, the Freshmen Priority Application Deadline.
- Pay the $70 application fee, or request a fee waiver.
- Apply for housing by the priority deadline. On-campus housing “is guaranteed to all new students who apply for housing by the priority deadline.”
- File the FAFSA or CADAA by March 2, 2027, the Priority Financial Aid Deadline.
- Plan for fall: “Spring entry is not available for Freshmen.”
The CSUCI freshman important dates page lists no final deadline, so Niche’s description of January 15 as the regular deadline is not accurate. Transfer and second-bachelor nursing applicants follow the earlier deadline described above; freshmen apply as Pre-Nursing, with a January 15 priority deadline.
Is CSU Channel Islands a Good School? Retention, Graduation and Students
On CSUCI’s own numbers, 80.0% of first-time, full-time students who entered in Fall 2024 returned the next year. Of the Fall 2019 entering class, 54.9% graduated within 6 years, and 72.2% of first-time transfers who entered in Fall 2021 graduated within 4 years.

| Measure | CSUCI Institutional Research | Federal (NCES) |
|---|---|---|
| First-year retention | 80.0% (entered Fall 2024) | 72% (full-time, Fall 2023 cohort) |
| 6-year graduation | 54.9% (entered Fall 2019) | 51% (Fall 2018 cohort) |
| Enrollment | 4,924 total, 4,545 undergraduates (Fall 2025) | 5,592 total, 5,118 undergraduates (Fall 2024) |
Source: CSUCI Campus Numbers (Fall 2025 edition); NCES College Navigator, accessed October 2026.
The two columns track different cohorts and years, so compare within a column, not across it.
Among CSUCI undergraduates in Fall 2025, 62.6% were Hispanic/Latino, 55.3% were Pell eligible and 61.4% were first-generation, per CSUCI Campus Numbers.
Which CSU Campuses Are Easier or Harder to Get Into?
By federal Fall 2024 numbers, the CSU Channel Islands acceptance rate ranked 9th highest of the 23 California State University campuses. The CSU median that fall was 93.7%, and 18 of the 23 campuses admitted more than 90% of freshman applicants.
Yield is where CSUCI stands out. Its Fall 2024 yield was the second-lowest of the 23 campuses, with only Humboldt lower, and it admitted about 16 students for every freshman who enrolled.
San Marcos and Northridge admitted at similar rates, and Cal State LA a bit lower. Long Beach, San Diego State and Cal Poly SLO were far more selective.
| Campus | Admit rate (Fall 2024) | Yield (Fall 2024) |
|---|---|---|
| Humboldt | 98.2% | 5.9% |
| San Marcos | 95.1% | 14.0% |
| Sacramento | 94.0% | 15.3% |
| Northridge | 93.4% | 18.0% |
| Los Angeles | 91.3% | 9.4% |
| Long Beach | 46.3% | 16.7% |
| San Diego State | 36.2% | 20.4% |
| Cal Poly SLO | 31.3% | 24.6% |
Source: IPEDS Fall 2024 via the Urban Institute Education Data API; ranks and medians calculated by CalChannel, October 2026.
Should CSU Channel Islands Be on Your List?
If you meet the GPA minimum, the CSU Channel Islands acceptance rate makes admission close to certain for a typical freshman applicant.
Nursing is a separate decision with its own deadline, its own test and an interview round.
Our take: Treat CSUCI as a likely admit and the BSN as a selective program. If nursing is the goal, plan the TEAS and prerequisites a year ahead.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is There a CSU Channel Islands Nursing Acceptance Rate?
No, CSUCI does not publish one. The nursing department also keeps seat counts and point values private, so treat any percentage you see in forums with caution.
What CSUCI does publish is the selection process. Applicants are ranked on supplemental criteria, and the top 90 move on to a group interview.
Does CSU Channel Islands Require the SAT or ACT?
No. CSUCI does not use SAT or ACT scores to decide admission eligibility. If you have scores, they can still help with course placement.
Some college search sites still list test scores as required or suggest a target score. Those listings don’t reflect the university’s current policy.
How Hard Is It to Get Into CSU Channel Islands?
Not hard for most freshmen. The CSU Channel Islands acceptance rate means more than nine in ten freshman applicants get an offer.
The real filter is meeting the A-G course and GPA minimums. Nursing is the exception: freshmen start as Pre-Nursing, and the BSN has its own ranked selection.
Can Freshmen Start at CSU Channel Islands in the Spring?
No. CSUCI states that spring entry is not available for freshmen, so first-time students apply for a fall term.
The BSN program also admits only in fall. If you miss a fall cycle, plan around the next one.
Which CSU Is the Easiest to Get Into?
By federal Fall 2024 data, Humboldt had the highest admit rate in the CSU system, at 98%. The Channel Islands university acceptance rate was lower but still in the upper half of the system.
Easy admission doesn’t mean easy entry to every major. At CSUCI, the BSN ranks applicants and interviews only the top 90.
Is January 15 the Final Deadline for CSU Channel Islands?
No, January 15, 2027 is the freshman priority deadline for Fall 2027. CSUCI has not published a separate final deadline on its admissions pages.
Applying by the priority date also keeps your housing guarantee. Transfer and second-bachelor nursing applicants work on an earlier window, so January is already too late for them.
Sources
- CSU Channel Islands Nursing, “Track I: Application Process for Fall 2027 Admission”
- CSU Channel Islands Nursing, “Supplemental Criteria, Admissions Fall 2026” (PDF, rev. 10/14/2024)
- CSU Channel Islands Admissions, “Freshman Requirements”
- CSU Channel Islands Admissions, “Freshman Important Dates”
- CSU Channel Islands Institutional Research, “Campus Numbers”
- NCES College Navigator, CSU Channel Islands (IPEDS)





